Converting a Private Channel to Public Through Web

After creating a public channel, you can convert it to private if you like to. So, click on channel name on top of the screen to see menu.

Among the options you can choose “Change Type” and see its type as “Private”.

In order to convert this channel to public choose this type and see the field of Public Channel ID. Type the ideal ID for your channel and click “OK”.

You have your channel as public at the moment.

How to convert a private group to a public one in Android

How to convert a private group to a public one in Android?

When you create a group by choosing “New Group” in Settings section (according to the previous descriptions about creating a group), and add ideal contacts as the group members; because the group is restricted in members, you call it a “Private Group”.

In order to change it to public one, you should tap the group name on top of the page and see group Settings.

Then tap the three dots icon at the top-right corner of the screen and choose the second option as “Convert to Public”. Now you can see the question about your certainty in converting your group to public.

If you are sure about your decision and touch “OK”, you will be able to see a new page with a username needed for the public group. Since this is a public group and every one of iGap users- known or unknown- can join, you have to specify a username for that (the minimum characters you can use must be between 5 to 32). After typing your favorite username, you should save it and end converting.

Converting a Private Group to a Public one Through Web

How to Convert a Private Group to a Public one in Web Version iGap?

You can create a group by choosing “New Group” over the options of menu (with regard to the instructions about creating a new group in Web version iGap) and add whom you are interested in as group members. As the number of members in this kind of group is restricted, this is called “Private Group”; but when you decide to convert it into a public, click on the group name shown on top of the screen to see menu options.

After choosing the option “Convert to Public” and typing a username for the group in the new page, you can confirm it (the characters must be at least 5 up to 32 with letters and digits among A-Z / 0-9).

Then by returning to the group page, you can see the creator’s action taken for converting the group into a public one. Since then, all members are able to send this group username to their friends and invite them. The maximum number of members in a public group is 5000.