At first, tap the group name on top of the page and see group settings.
Now, tap the icon of three dots at the top-right corner of the screen and choose the second option. Here you are asked about your certainty of converting your group to a private.
After pressing “OK” you will see the group page showing your name as the creator, the added members and its conversion to the current private group.
How to convert a private group to a public one in Android?
When you create a group by choosing “New Group” in Settings section (according to the previous descriptions about creating a group), and add ideal contacts as the group members; because the group is restricted in members, you call it a “Private Group”.
In order to change it to public one, you should tap the group name on top of the page and see group Settings.
Then tap the three dots icon at the top-right corner of the screen and choose the second option as “Convert to Public”. Now you can see the question about your certainty in converting your group to public.
If you are sure about your decision and touch “OK”, you will be able to see a new page with a username needed for the public group. Since this is a public group and every one of iGap users- known or unknown- can join, you have to specify a username for that (the minimum characters you can use must be between 5 to 32). After typing your favorite username, you should save it and end converting.
How to convert a public group to a private one in Web version iGap?
You should click on the group name shown at top of the screen to see menu options in order to convert a public group into a private.
Then by choosing the option “Convert to Private” you can complete the action of converting and members can be added to the group by the creator/admin afterwards.
How to Convert a Private Group to a Public one in Web Version iGap?
You can create a group by choosing “New Group” over the options of menu (with regard to the instructions about creating a new group in Web version iGap) and add whom you are interested in as group members. As the number of members in this kind of group is restricted, this is called “Private Group”; but when you decide to convert it into a public, click on the group name shown on top of the screen to see menu options.
After choosing the option “Convert to Public” and typing a username for the group in the new page, you can confirm it (the characters must be at least 5 up to 32 with letters and digits among A-Z / 0-9).
Then by returning to the group page, you can see the creator’s action taken for converting the group into a public one. Since then, all members are able to send this group username to their friends and invite them. The maximum number of members in a public group is 5000.
The creator creates a group based on the instructions described before in previous sections and adds how many members s/he likes over her/his contacts. All members are able to send messages and see others’ messages; also if one of them wants to add a new member, s/he should ask the admin/creator to do so. Additionally, the rules for members in this group are specified by the admin/creator.
For public groups the creator should identify a username for the group after creating based on the instructions. So, everyone- who has an iGap account- can join by searching the group’s username. In public groups, there is no need to be added by admin/creator. If you as a member want to add a new member, just send the group username to others, then they can join by touching or clicking that. In this sort of group, all members can post and everyone’s posts and messages are observable to others.