How to convert a public group to a private one in Web version iGap?
You should click on the group name shown at top of the screen to see menu options in order to convert a public group into a private.
Then by choosing the option “Convert to Private” you can complete the action of converting and members can be added to the group by the creator/admin afterwards.
How to Convert a Private Group to a Public one in Web Version iGap?
You can create a group by choosing “New Group” over the options of menu (with regard to the instructions about creating a new group in Web version iGap) and add whom you are interested in as group members. As the number of members in this kind of group is restricted, this is called “Private Group”; but when you decide to convert it into a public, click on the group name shown on top of the screen to see menu options.
After choosing the option “Convert to Public” and typing a username for the group in the new page, you can confirm it (the characters must be at least 5 up to 32 with letters and digits among A-Z / 0-9).
Then by returning to the group page, you can see the creator’s action taken for converting the group into a public one. Since then, all members are able to send this group username to their friends and invite them. The maximum number of members in a public group is 5000.
After making decision about creating a virtual space for your friends and yourself and chatting together you should click the icon of three lines at the top-left corner of the screen to see menu options.
Choose “New Group” and type a name (mandatory) and a brief description (optional) in the fields on the new open page.
Then click “Next” to see the list of your contacts.
When selecting your favorite members over the contacts and choosing “Submit”, the required group will be created.
Now, you can see your successfully created private group.
Tips and tricks in iGap Channels and Groups:
The most important advantage of iGap messaging app is that your mobile phone number is not going to be seen by any of the members unless s/he had saved your number among contacts.
In iGap groups and/or channels all members can add new members unless they have been kicked out of there by the creator, admin and/or additional administrator(s) or moderator(s).
All members can clear channel and/or group history. If a member clears history of the channel or group, all other members have their history undeleted. So, it’s been cleared only for him/her.
In groups, all members can send messages either public or private; but sending message is available for people with no privileges in channels neither public nor private.
Every one of the members can leave channels and/or groups, but it’s not possible for the creators.
In groups either public or private, every member can edit his/her own messages and has no authority to edit others’ even the creators.
In channels either public or private, every privileged member can edit his/her own message and the member’s with a privilege level lower than him/herself. (for example: the admin can edit the moderator’s post, but the moderator cannot make any changes on admin or creator’s posts.
Changing public channels and/or groups to private or vice versa can be available only for creators.
Choosing or removing an avatar (picture), editing the name and even typing a brief description for all channels and/or groups will be done only by the creators and/or admin.
We will check some general parts in public and private spaces in iGap in the following.
- If the creator of the channel or group wants to leave, s/he can only destruct and delete it entirely; on the other hand, it is not possible for the public channel or group creator in to leave iGap.
- In all channels and groups, the creator and admin are able to observe list of members.
- In iGap messaging application, all users cannot create more than five public groups and/or channels. (for example: three public channels and two public groups)
- If you have created a private channel or group, you can leave and put no influences on the conditions of the same channel and group. Although, the members can continue their activity in there. It’s supposed to be mentioned that when you return to your left group or channel, the ownership of that will be the same as before and you are its creator again.
- Number of created private channels and/or groups is not restricted and you can be the creator of lots of private channels and groups.
Different privilege levels in channels and/or groups:
- Creator: S/he is the one who has created the group and/or channel and has the highest level of privilege (or the First privilege).
- Admin: S/he is the one who’s elected as the administrator by the creator and has the Second level of privilege. To be an admin needs to be a member in the same group or channel first.
- Additional Admin/Moderator: S/he is the one who’s identified as the additional administrator by the creator or administrator and has the Third level of privilege. If you want to be identified as the additional admin or moderator, first you have to be one of the members at the same group and/or channel.
- Members: They are people who have joined the groups and/or channels with no particular level of privilege.